Creativity, a Sponge

I’ve come to realize, creativity behaves like a sponge.

In between uses, while I’m immersed in beautiful literature, the sponge becomes saturated. It drips. Yearns to be squeezed. Then, I get writing, squeezing every last drop until the sponge is a desert. Through its face, what starts to build, are chasms. Creativity temporarily dried, I spend hours looking at the screen, writing nothing.

How do I refill the sponge of creativity? Easy. I spend time immersed in beautiful literature, resting my brain, learning new ways words can be used. However, recently I’ve noticed there’s a catch. Before I started writing, my creativity, ideas, would flood every aspect of my life. But the more I write, the less I enjoy stories, as my brain is analyzing text, rather than simply sitting back and enjoying.

“AHHHH!” I scream. Of course, silently. My sponge is dried! I need a bucket to refill! But it feels like every bucket I find is filled with sand. Perhaps some time away from writing may help. However, the fear of losing motivation to write keeps me glued to my story.

Writing is a drug. An addiction. The cure to my soul’s aches and pains. The solution to life problems. But also, the ticket to insanity. Thus, I sit here, sponge dried, lapping up the rain of sand. “What should I do next?” I ask myself. I don’t know… I guess I’ll go back to writing. Or perhaps sleep, drink coffee. Or maybe I should finally finish reading The Way of Kings–I’m almost there. But if I start reading the book, I’d need to find a new door stopper. 🙂

 

Thank you for reading. Have a great weekend!

 

-Thomas J. Benedict

9 thoughts on “Creativity, a Sponge

    1. NO WAY!!
      Brandon Sanderson is a GENIUS and is one of my all time favorite authors!! I’m about 400 pages away from finishing the book (Shallan just tried soulcasting and failed!)
      Kaladin is awesome! My favourite has to be Dalinar, something about his character resonates with me the best!

      It’s official! We are friends! (hahah!!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Agreed, if you have not read Patrick Rothfuss’s “Name of the Wind” I would definitely recommend it. It was my second favorite book (right after Way of Kings).

        Like

      2. That book is actually on my high priority list! I actually have the book ready to go!
        I have an irrational fear of running out of great books to read, so I’ve made a habit for reading low priority books from my TBR list in between high priority books. 😂 strange, I know. But the fear is real.

        Right after TWOK i might read the Wheel of time book 1, and then hop on the Rothfuss train. I haven’t heard a single bad thing about Rothfuss, so I’m excited!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

